Salta, la linda

The city of Salta certainly earns its nickname: Salta, la linda (Salta, the lovely), and I enjoyed every moment I was there, I only wish I had had a little more time to explore. So here in review are some of the things I did and some of the things I’ll have to do next time.

La ciudad de Salta merece su apodo: Salta, la linda, y disfruté cada momento que estaba allá, solo ojalá que hubiera tenido más tiempo. Así son algunos de las actividades que hice y algunas actividades tendré que hacer la próximo vez.

Stuff I did:

-Cerro San Bernardo- the 10 minute cable car ride up Cerro San Bernardo affords lovely views of the city and the summit itself has a delightful collection of lookouts, crafts venders, and even a cafe.

-Cerro San Bernardo- el teleférico hasta la cima de Cerro San Bernardo da vistas muy lindas de la ciudad y la cima tiene muchas miradores, artesanos y un café. 

IMG_8338

-Museo Arqueológico de Alta Montaña- a very small museum but totally worth it as their collection of Incan burial artifacts and actual Incan mummies is unlike anything else in the world.

-Museo Arqueológico de Alta Montaña- un museo pequeño pero vale la pena porque tiene una colección de artefactos y momias de los Incas y es único en todo el mundo.

-Cachi- I took a tour to the little pueblito of Cachi, seeing lovely views of the mountains and visiting the Parque Nacional de los Cardones on the way.

-Cachi- tomé un tour del pueblito de Cachi, y vi muchas vistas hermosas de las montañas y visité el Parque Nacional de los Cardones también.

IMG_8430

-Museo Bellas Artes- I’m always to be found at art museums and this one had a very impressive exhibition of photography when I was there (although it is a temporary exhibition).

-Museo Bellas Artes- siempre voy a los museos de arte y este tuvo una exposición impresionante de fotografía cuando estuve allá (pero es una exposición temporada). 

-Salinas Grandes- a trip to Salta is not complete without visiting the salt flats from which the town gets its name. My tour followed the route of the Tren de los Nubes and demonstrated a landscape entirely different from the one I saw the day before around Cachi. The diversity in the landscapes around Salta make it truly extraordinary.

-Salinas Grandes- un viaje a Salta no es completo sin una visita a las Salinas Grandes de las que Salta merece su nombre. Mi tour siguió la ruta del Tren de los Nubes y mostró una paisaje distinto de la paisaje de ayer cerca de Cachi. La diversidad en las paisajes cerca de Salta hacen la area extraordinaria. 

IMG_8562

-Mercado Municipal San Miguel- many of the markets in South America sell similar arts and crafts, but that didn’t make this one any less delightful.

-Mercado Municipal San Miguel- la mayoría de los mercados en America del Sur vende cosas similares, pero todavía lo disfruté. 

-Pumauaca- an adorable little pueblito full of arts and crafts venders and nestled in the uniquely colored mountains. I visited Pumauaca as the last stop on my Salinas Grandes tour.

-Pumauaca- una pueblito lleno de artesanos debajo de las montañas coloridas. Visité Pumauaca en la parada última de mi tour de Salinas Grandes.

IMG_8567

Stuff I didn’t have time for (next time):

-Cafayate- Cafayate is a high altitude wine country and I had intended to go there and drink a lot of wine. Unfortunately, I had to scramble my tours a bit, and the Cafayate tour wasn’t available the day I wanted to do it. This led me to go to Cachi instead.

-Cafayate- Cafayate es una area gran altitud conocido por su vino. Intenté a ir y tomar mucho vino, pero mis tours cambiaron y el tour de Cafayate no fue disponible en el día quise. Fui a Cachi en vez de Cafayate. 

-Humauaca- due to my misreading the locations on my Salinas Grandes tour, I thought that I was going to go here but in fact my tour drove through the Humauaca Gorge and did not visit the town of Humauaca.

-Humauaca- porque leí mal las ubicaciones en my tour de Salinas Grandes, pensé que iba a ir acá pero mi tour manejó a través del Quebrado de Humauaca y no fue a la ciudad de Humauaca.

-Fort of Tilcara- on the way to Humauaca, this village was a little too far for this trip as well.

-Fort of Tilcara- en camino a Humauaca, este pueblito era un poquito lejos para este viaje también. 

-Quebrada de los Conchas- another lovely vista but again too far to go in my short stop in Salta.

-Quebrada de los Conchas- una otra vista hermosa pero también demasiado lejos.

-Museo Pajcha- I was also hoping to make it to this museum of ethnic and regional art, but I didn’t get to it this time.

-Museo Pajcha- esperaba a ir a este museo de arte étnico y regional pero no tuve tiempo. 

Since I was traveling alone, I booked tours to see some of the areas around Salta, but I think that renting a car is also a good option as there’s a ton to see around Salta and having a car lets you go at your own pace.

Porque estaba viajando sola, hice tours para ver las areas cerca de Salta, pero pienso que alquilando una coche es un opción buena también porque hay un montón para ver cerca de Salta y puedes ir a tu propio ritmo. 

Lo siento por los errores.

-Krista

Current location: San Pedro de Atacama, Chile

Leave a comment